I think I am a natural problem solver-as I have been doing some reflection on what my next career path should be, I am finding that I am quick to offer suggestions and solutions when sometimes all that is needed is the ability to listen.
Unfortunately my problem solving skills are at a loss when it comes to Lucas these days. When he cries I know something is wrong but I have no idea where to start finding the answers-I move toys away, I give him different toys, I check his diaper, I talk to him, I pray that it is not his ears again. Last night nothing seemed to work-he was getting cranky when he was eating dinner and was acting tired. So I put him on the floor to play, thinking he would just lean back and take a cat nap. He was fine playing for a while (so I got to actually eat dinner) but in a split second he got hysterical. I thought he might be teething so I got him to cold pacifier-nothing changed. I thought if I rocked him, he would finally give into the sleep. Nope-he was not having it. Finally Marc came home and Lucas seemed to calm down a bit. Maybe I was the problem.
Right now Marc and I are in a battle of wills over the pacifier and feeding him solids. I do not want Lucas to have the pacifier when he is a year old-I hate seeing older kids with it. At this point he should be able to sooth himself-he has just grown too accustome to having it. Marc insists that he doesn't need it during the day yet we send him to daycare each day with it. I know we need to start not giving it to him during the day and gradually stop it at night. He is 9 and a half months old right now-he will be a year before we know it and my fear is that we will have accomplished nothing. Marc says that we need to slowly do it-how much slower can we get than not giving it to him during the day?
The solid food thing is another issue. At the 9 month check up, the doc said we could start giving him food off our plates. I am all for this-the sooner he gets used to having regular food, the better. I do not want to struggle like my sister and sister-in-law have with getting their boys to eat a variety of foods. I know my sister will admit it was because they didn't make Bryce eat what they were. I feel that if the doc says it is OK (within the allergy guidelines) we should not have an issue. Yes he only has 2 teeth but I am not giving him things that are really hard. Plus his gums are strong-all you need to do is have him put your finger in his mouth for you to know he can mash things pretty good. And I would not be giving him things he could easily choke on.
I just feel like it is me against the world lately.
Wednesday, June 25, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
You'll figure this stuff out and then it will be something new.
I think you are correct about the pacifier. Be patient. JT was ok without his during the day. (We trained ourselves not to give it to him.) About a month ago we went binky-free. UGH! It was a VERY painful week and a half for us. JT would wake up at night screaming... our physical presence was his only pacification. We took turns being "on call". It helps to get sleep every other night. I am happy to report that it worked and he is sleeping through the night again and the binky is gone forever.
We're moving slowly with finger foods. JT eats cheerios, frozen peas, black beans, and quartered & peeled grapes. We let him sample from our plates all the time. He just started signing for "more" on Sunday, so we might be in trouble with that. :-)
Your boy is doing great, Lynn... enjoy him. Teach him something ornery like sticking out his tongue. lol!
Post a Comment