I have been trying to get Lucas to become more interested in church. Beyond the fact he is going to need to start going to religious ed in the near future and I don't want him to be the kid who asks, "Who is Jesus?", we need to go to church. I was raised in an amazing parish and the parish I belong to here is just as good.
So a few weeks ago I went, alone, to the 10am mass. It was great! Not just the fact that I was alone but mass really was good. The homily was good, our pastor was funny as always and I got to sit next to and share the sign of peace with one of our local TV personalities who is a parishioner. We have two local celebs in our little parish.When I got home I told Lucas that he really should have gone with me. Like a seasoned mom I didn't wait for him to ask why but went right into all the reasons he missed a great mass.
First, the bell choir was there. Our parish hired a new music director several months ago and I have to say that while I don't like the pomp and circumstance he brings to masses, the bell choir is a neat addition. Lucas loves them! When he has gone with me to church and they happen to be "performing", he is so intrigued by them. Score one Mom!
Second, there weren't many kids there. Now this might not seem like a draw but with fewer kids there, fewer went to the Children's Liturgy. So the odds of being picked to carry the Bible to their meeting were pretty good. Of course when I told Lucas this, I was hoping it would get at his need to be picked for the "special jobs". He was more concerned about finding out what the Bible was. Epic parenting fail. Score one Lucas.
Third, it was Donut Sunday. 'Nuff said.
I certainly hope that this little helping of guilt makes him rethink church.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment