We should start potty training-I know it, but I am lazy. There, I said it. I know that you should wait for your child to take an interest in it and watch for signs.
Well, Lucas is clearly demonstrating signs he is ready. He has been interested in the potty-curious when we are in there, has seen and sat on his potty. At daycare he has been dry for most of the day on several occasions. And now we have the joy of watching him grab himself when he is clearly going to the bathroom.
After our friends visited with their almost 3 year old who is potty trained, I thought Lucas would take more on interest in the whole process. We started asking him if he wants to sit on the potty and he does, but only because he likes to flush the toilet. After a messy diaper, I recently flushed the unmentionables and Lucas thought that was the best thing ever! i even printed out a potty calendar with characters from Toy Story on it to help mark his progress.
I don't want to force it on him. I have heard from other moms that different approaches can work-having them wear underwear and feel being wet; sitting them on the toilet every 15 minutes to get them used to using the toilet. I would love to be off for a week and just be able to focus on this. But that isn't going to happen. So I will just need to do it. Hopefully if I set the goal for us to well on our way by the end of August, just before he turns three.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment