Tuesday, January 25, 2011

The Big Boy Bed

Lucas is in love.

He can not get enough of his new bed. We had him all geared up for the crib coming down and the mattresses coming on Saturday.

At one point on Saturday he brought his stool into the living room so he could look out the window for the delivery truck.

And finally, at 3pm, they arrived! It took less than 5 minutes to get the mattress set on the frame and then it was ready. I was expecting the set to sit lower in the frame and I was even a bit worried about how Lucas would handle it. But he proved me wrong again-within an hour he was climbing in and out of the bed like a pro. He was so excited. I got the sheets out-he wanted blue ones, set up the bed rail, got his Toy Story comforter out and then it was playtime on the bed!!!

He looks for any opportunity to be in it-he even tells us know that he is tired which is just a plot to get upstairs but who cares! I have found him on several occasions in bed reading to his animals.

He has done really well with it and his room looks great!

Friday, January 21, 2011

Big step this weekend!

Lucas gets a big boy bed!!

My parents graciously bought us a beautiful twin bed frame in the fall. And it in parts in our second bedroom. We just weren't in a position to buy the mattress and box spring.

When Marc realized it was a twin and not a toddler bed, he was pissed. He came up with a thousand reason why we shouldn't put it up: it would be too high for Lucas, it won't fit in the room, he doesn't need it, etc.

One day I pulled everything out of Lucas' room to prove to Marc that it would fit (with almost three feet to spare) and we ordered the mattress set last weekend. It gets delivered tomorrow. So last night was the last time Lucas will sleep in a crib! Tonight when I get home I am going to change everything out-put his new dresser in, change out his clothes from his changing table to the dresser, take apart the crib and set up the frame. Lucas and I will sleep in the second bedroom tonight.

He has been so excited. He keeps telling me that I need to get him a pillow and he needs a blanket. Lucky for him Santa gave him a Toy Story comforter for Christmas and we have an over abundance of pillows.

I just hope that Marc gets over his hangups about this. As the woman at the mattress store said, Lucas is going to have this bed until he goes to college. Unless his tall gene develops and he outgrows it!

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

The Holidays revisited

I am a slacker (again) I know. So as the City of Pittsburgh prepares for a HUGE amount of snow (4-6 inches in the next 36 hours), I will share happy thoughts with you about our holidays.

Lucas wasn't sure what to make of lighting the Menorah for Hanukkah. At first he thought we should blow the candles out or sing happy birthday. By the end of the 8 nights, he was yelling Happy Hanukkah! Now it will be fun to see what he does at the next birthday party. Marc's mom hosted Hanukkah dinner. My sister in law and I have been manning the griddles that past few years. We are the Latke Ladies. It is fun to do and let's the dads oversee the kids for a while.

We then went to Buffalo to celebrate Christmas with my family. Lucas and I left a day before Marc since he had to work. Except for driving in the snow in balled tires, the trip was great! As my long time readers will remember, Lucas doesn't always act nicely towards my mom. I hate it and I am sure he picks up on my anxiety and stress about the situation. But this time on the way up, Lucas and I talked about how much Nana loves him and she doesn't want to see him cry and be upset at her house. He told me he wasn't going to cry. I also gave him the option of stopping for lunch in Erie or driving straight through. He told me he wanted to eat lunch at Nana's. That was a huge step forward.

When we arrived, he didn't get upset. He stayed in the house with my mom while I unloaded the car and even sat on her lap while they watched TV. HUGE!!! He was good for her most of the time we were visiting. And he loved sleeping in the toddler bed they have for him. Now if only we can get our act together and get his twin bed set up.

Lucas has this game at my parents house. He will turn the light on in his room when we put him to bed and keep it on all night. I would often turn it off when I went to bed but in the morning, it is on again. I think it is more because he can reach the light rather than he is scared. On Christmas Eve I told him that we needed to keep the light off. If Santa stops at our house and sees his light on, Santa will think that we are still up and not come in. Sure enough, that light stayed off all night long. His child care center also sent home magic reindeer food. We were supposed to put it in the yard so the reindeer knew where to stop. It was a mixture of glitter and oats. Lucas and I left it on the deck in the snow. It was such a cute thing to do. I will continue that in years to come.

My mom said he was really good while opening presents. He waited while I showed him each gift that he took out before tearing into another one. It is nice to see rather than one of my nephew's is isn't very patient.

All in all, we had a good holiday season. Now Lucas is counting down the days until Santa comes again.

Friday, January 7, 2011

Potty training

Happy New Year!

Our year started off with a new adventure-potty training. We had been working with Lucas on this for a few months. We started putting him on the potty before bed and he did well with it.

Since I was off for about 12 days for the holidays (one perk of working at a university), I decided to just go for it. So New Years Eve, I put Lucas in big boy pants and we haven't looked back. He has done well. We have had one accident in a week. I was a little nervous about having him go back to school but he has been great. His teachers have said he is doing a really good job.

He is still in pullups for naps and over night but that will come. I am so proud not only of what Lucas has accomplished but what Marc and I have done too.

We are celebrating on Monday with dinner at the fine dining establishment of Chuck E. Cheese.

I know you are all jealous.

Fed up

I am fed up. And not with the usual suspects (lol).

I just read a post on a local discussion board from a new mom who felt like a failure because she started meds for Postpartum depression. She is also giving herself the guilt trip because she doesn't want to harm her new baby by passing the meds through her breastmilk.

HELLO!

Why can't we acknowledge the ugly side of pregnancy and motherhood? Why do we need to feel shamed because we have PPD or didn't breastfeed or had to have a c-section or lost a baby? What is wrong with us as women and mothers?

Wake up-nobody is perfect. There is no shame in admitting that things are quite as you had planned. It is more shameful to act like nothing is wrong.

I hear people say that they are weak and that is why they needed to ask for help. I see it the other way around-you have to be really strong to recognize you need help and the wisdom to ask for it.